Re-installing HA agent in ESXi


First why I need to do this. I cloned my existing ESXi virtual machine which was added to the cluster. As a result it copied HA agent into new ESXi

After changing hostname, I tried to add it to vCenter. It came up with error

Host already present in vCenter so cannot add it again

I knew I need to uninstall HA agent but then how to ?

here are simple steps

  • Using unsupported mode logging to ESXi
  • Go to directory /opt/vmware/uninstallers/ and run below two commands
  • ./VMware-vpxa-uninstall.sh
  • ./VMware-aam-ha-uninstall.sh

Add host to vCenter, it is success

Detailed KB Article available here

 

Leave a Reply

